Thoughts on Informational Interviews

27 01 2009

So, I’ve pretty much resigned myself to the fact that the job market sucks right now.  Everyone keeps reminding me over and over again that the best way to get my foot in the door is through networking. Which makes sense.  So, I shamelessly emailed all of my former mentors/contacts telling them in not so many words that I’m desperate and is there any way they could help me.  

 

I went in for a meeting with one of them yesterday and here’s how it went: I arrive right on time (5 minutes early actually). His assistant tells me he is stuck in a meeting so I wait patiently for a half hour.  His assistant brings me to his office where he types on his computer for five more minutes and then sits at a table across from me.  We chat for a few minutes about my last two jobs and then he tells me that he feels bad because the market is so tough right now and his company isn’t hiring at all, but if he hears of anything he’ll let me know. He says that I have a strong resume but I’m going to have a hard time finding something right now and to hang in there and let him know if I hear back from anywhere I applied.  Fifteen minutes after he first sits down with me, I am in the elevator leaving. Am I better off than I was before?  That remains to be seen.

Actions

Information

One response

28 01 2009
FrugalNYC

Hang in there. Every step is a step closer, as long as you are heading in the right direction. What type of job are you looking for? Networking is generally the best way. Generally you will get an interview about 3-5% of the time, after sending out a resume. So I suggest just keep trying, your odds get higher the more you try. Friends, family and online communities can help your moral whenever you need it.

Leave a Reply

