Another day, another interview

17 02 2009

The good news: I’ve got an interview today. The bad news: I’ve got an interview today.

 

So, I’m trying to approach this interview with a different attitude than I did with my last so I don’t self-sabotage and continue to be unemployed forever. Plus,  I really need to come up with a better strategy for nailing interviews, especially since they’re kind of few and far between at this point.

 

Here’s what I’ve resolved to do differently today:

1.  Put less pressure on myself.  It’s just a job interview, not the end of the world.  At this point, I have nothing to lose, so I need to just have fun with it.

2.  Actually believe I’m right for the job.  So what, I don’t have the specific experience that the job description calls for.  The experience I do have combined with the fact I’m smart makes me as strong a candidate as anyone else.  I actually believe that I could learn to do any job and do it well. I just need to project that confidence in the interview.

3.  Wear a good outfit.  I bought a rockin new interview outfit  to wear today so that I look professional and stylin.  If I know that I look good, I know that I’ll  feel good too. In my last interview, I wore old yucky clothes that didn’t fit  well and I think that contributed to my nervousness and awkwardness. Not today!

 

I think we could all learn a little about good interviewing from this video:

Actions

Information

3 responses

17 02 2009
Marina Rey

Good luck! I’m going to one later myself. Hope this works out for you!

3 03 2009
The 405 Club

That is hilarious. I’ve got to see that movie. Pretty sure i’ve got the time right now as well. doh!

-405er
The 405 Club
New York’s Official Unemployment Benefit Collection Club, $405/week.

5 03 2009
Ecommerce Job ... Where Are You?

Just got back from an interview and no clue how it went. I do know that it went much better than that, so maybe it went well.

FYI – Rule #1 of job interviews: Even if you can’t afford it, you have to charge it because looking fly in a new suit is key to looking the part and a huge confidence booster. You go into that interview with some swagger.

Leave a Reply

