Frustration nation

26 02 2009

So, today I took the express train to Frustration City.  Now I am officially the mayor.  It’s been over three months and the job search process feels like nothing but one dead end after another.   My one interview that I thought went great – haven’t heard a thing back.  And I’ve followed up multiple times. 

 

Aside from that, I’ve had another string of interviews that I thought were promising, the last of which was yesterday.  Today, I got word that they want me. YAY! But then…they made me an offer…and it’s terrible.  I’m 99% positive that garbage collectors and sanitation workers make better salaries than the offer they made me. The salary is lower than the salary of my first job out of college and wayyy lower than my last salary.  $15,000 lower to be exact.  I know it’s an economic depression and all, but I really don’t want to sell myself short and bring myself all the way back to where I started from. I put in so much time and hard work to get to my last job, I really don’t want to have to start all over.  So I went back and asked for more money.  I’m still waiting for an answer so we will see.

 

In honor of my day, here is a photo collage:

frustrated-man1
frustrated

frustrated2

frustrated4

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 03 2009
Katie

I know the feeling. 😉

6 03 2009
Marina Rey

Ugh, sorry to hear how frustrated you are. It’s tough for all of us. But hey, congrats on getting AN offer. I really hope they hire you. Good luck!

25 02 2010
Scott

In the same boat here! It’s rough out there. There are so many peeps in our situation we should form a group and find ways to do something different to bring in the money.

Leave a Reply

